University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut


Student Association of School Psychology

The Student Association of School Psychology at the University of Connecticut‘s Neag School of Education (UConn SASP) is a graduate student organization with the formal purpose to (a) increase student collaboration on research and dissemination projects; (b) provide professional development for students on specific topics of interest; (c) promote service to the community; (d) facilitate a forum for ongoing program evaluation; and (e) to keep students abreast of current opportunities and initiatives in the field. Meetings occur every four to six weeks with a varying format. One week, we might bring our lunches and talk about issues related to SASP projects, school psychology, and our program. We also facilitate panels of practitioners and researchers, coordinate service events, support incoming students through an informal mentorship program, and host presentations by leaders in the field.

The executive board of SASP is responsible for fulfilling those objectives to the best of its ability through collaboration and program leadership. The board is comprised of both 6th-year-level and PhD-level students in all stages of the program.

Current members of the SASP executive board include:

President: Johanna deLeyer-Tiarks

Vice President: Jesslynn Rocha Neves

Treasurer: Hao-Jan Luh

Secretary: Jessica Garbec

Service Coordinator: Carissa Scogin

Faculty Advisor: Lisa Sanetti, PhD